Successful Practices

The Basic Skills Initiative Effective Practices Database

ASCCC Central/Sacramento Regional Workshop Spring 2009
The following successful practices were presented at the Central/Sacramento Regional Workshop held at the Sacramento Hilton Arden West Hotel, April 30-May 1, 2009. The successful practices fell into three categories: First Year Experience, Tutoring, and Cross Curricular Programs.fye

First Year Experience Programs 

Addressing the Needs of a Diverse Student Population Through a First Year Experience Program
Contact: Frances Gusman, College of the Sequoias: francesg@cos.edu

.XL – The Summer Bridge & First-Year Experience Program
Contact: Lynn Wright, Pasadena City College:  lmwright@pasadena.edu

The Digital Bridge Academy PowerPoint
Digital Bridge Academy Booklet
Digital Bridge Academy Video
Contact: Diego Navarro, Cabrillo College: diego@cabrillo.edu                             www.dbacademy.org/ProfDevtutoring

Tutoring Programs 

Partnership for Student Success at Santa Barbara City College
Contact: Jerry Pike, SBCC: Pike@sbcc.edu

Butte College Center for Academic Success
Contact: Miya Squires, Butte College: SquiresMi@butte.edu

Students Helping Students Through Fresno City ETC Extending The Class
Contact: Jaclyn Hardy and Janine Nkosi, Fresno City College: jaclyn.hardy@fresnocitycollege.edu

Cross Curricular Programs  cross-curricular

The DIOP Story; Once Upon a Time…
Contact: Teresa Aldredge, Cosumnes River College: aldredt@crc.losrios.edu

An Adjunct Paired Class: Helping Students Be Successful
Contact: Gretchen Cupp and Rick Bliss, Yuba College: gcupp@yccd.edu and rbliss@yccd.edu

Cross Curricular ESL
Contact: Vicki Curtis, Ohlone College: vcurtis@ohlone.edu

Participants at the Sacramento/Central Workshop identified programs/activities in which their colleges excel and those in which their colleges are challenged

Nancy Cook’s PowerPoint for ASCCC Central/Sacramento Regional Workshop, May 1, 2009

Check out presentations from the Bay Area Regional Workshop, April 23-24, 2009

Check out presentations from the Southern California Regional Workshop, May 7-8, 2009math

Developmental Mathematics Pilot
Teams of college faculty in the San Diego, Los Angeles and San Francisco areas are collaborating in a pilot study program to support implementation of effective instructional practices for the Basic Skills Initiative in Developmental Math courses. The Faculty Collaborations for Course Transformations (FACCTS) Program for Development Mathematics in the California Community Colleges is supported by the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation. Read more about this exciting pilot!

One Response to Successful Practices

  1. Darlene April 18, 2012 at 1:22 am #

    heya. great work. i hope you keep this pace and write more articles. success.http://www.capitaocaverna.net